This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you consent to our use of cookies unless you have disabled them.

eMag | Directory | TNT Travel Show 2017 | Events Search | TNT Jobs

In a weekend that won't be erased from the memory of Boyd Cordner in a hurry, the lad from Taree who won his first Grand Final on Sunday as a Rooster awoke Monday to find out the next time he takes a field in competition will be as a Kangaroo.

Back-rower Cordner was named among three uncapped forwards, along with Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders) and Andrew Fifita (Cronulla Sharks) for the Australian team that will be pushing for their debut when the Rugby League World Cup begins on October 26. 

The first match in Cardiff against England will begin Australia's quest for redemption in the four-yearly tournament after they lost the final in 2008 against New Zealand - the Aussies had won the past six Cups. 

Melbourne Storm rake Cameron Smith was named skipper of the 24-man squad alongside a host of experienced hands, including South Sydney's Greg Inglis, Cronulla's Paul Gallen, Brisbane's Sam Thaiday and Brent Tate of North Queensland. 

Dally M medalist Cooper Cronk and Johnathan Thurston will form the most likely halves pairing with their understudy Daly Cherry-Evans, who won the Clive Churchill medal for the player of the grand final despite being in a losing side. 

Tim Sheens' side is imposing despite injury preventing Justin Hodges, Kurt Gidley and Anthony Watmough's inclusion in the squad set to meet on October 10 and heading to the UK four days later. 

After the opener at the Milennium Stadium, Australia play Fiji on November 2 and Ireland on November 9 in their other Group A matches.

Just three members of the grand final teams made the cut, with Cherry-Evans, Cordner and Rooster Michael Jennings. 

Australia Kangaroos World Cup squad: Cameron Smith (captain), Paul Gallen, Greg Bird, Darius Boyd, Daly Cherry-Evans, Boyd Cordner, Cooper Cronk, Robbie Farah, Andrew Fifita, Jarryd Hayne, Greg Inglis, Michael Jennings, Luke Lewis, Brett Morris, Josh Morris, Nate Myles, Josh Papalii, Corey Parker, Beau Scott, Billy Slater, James Tamou, Brent Tate, Sam Thaiday, Johnathan Thurston.


RLWC2013: Three debutants included as Australia name Rugby League World Cup squad
Digital Mag

Latest News

Stay connected on social networks
Like us on Facebook
Follow TNT on Twitter