This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you consent to our use of cookies unless you have disabled them.

eMag | Directory | TNT Travel Show 2017 | Events Search | TNT Jobs

Grammy-winning Gregory Porter to receive award and perform on the night.

The Jazz FM Awards produced by Serious will return in 2016, taking place at the Bloomsbury Ballroom in London on Tuesday 26 April.

Following on from the success of last year’s ceremony, which was presented by actor and comedian John 'Fast Show' Thomson and saw performances from Hugh Masekela and Rebecca Ferguson in front of  guests including Laura Mvula, Cerys Matthews, Denis Lawson and Jon Snow, the organisers have confirmed the first performer for this year’s event, the Grammy Award-winning vocalist and songwriter Gregory Porter. As well as showcasing new material, Porter will also be honoured with the Impact Award, presented to a jazz artist who’s made an outstanding impression on the wider global music scene.

Speaking about being presented with the award, Porter says: “The UK audience was the first audience to propel me really all over the world. I launched myself from the experiences I was having in the UK. France got jealous and Germany was like 'OK what's all this commotion about?' and so the energy that was created is what pushes me and so I'm delighted to have the UK be the first place that I exercise this new music. In a way, you've let me know who I am in the past, so I'm going to lay the music on you and I hope you'll do it again.”

“Jazz FM got my name out there, and my sound, even to the point where Howard and Guy from Disclosure heard one of my songs on Jazz FM, and that's how they decided to call me and do the song that we did, which ended up being a number one dance song around the world. So I have you to thank for many reasons, for advancing my jazz career and doing special things like that. I'm thankful for Jazz FM's approach, and for embracing me and my sound.”


The Jazz FM Awards 2016 will present the following awards on the night:

Breakthrough Act

Instrumentalist of the Year

Album of the Year

Jazz Innovation of the Year

Live Experience of the Year

UK Jazz Act of the Year

International Jazz Artist of the Year

Blues Artist of the Year

Soul Artist of the Year

Vocalist of the Year

Jazz Impact Award – to be presented to Gregory Porter

Digital Initiative Award

Lifetime Achievement







Jazz FM awards to return in 2016
Digital Mag

Latest News

Stay connected on social networks
Like us on Facebook
Follow TNT on Twitter