This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you consent to our use of cookies unless you have disabled them.

eMag | Directory | TNT Travel Show 2017 | Events Search | TNT Jobs

Michael Clarke may have been on the receiving end of three Ashes defeats, two of them captain, but he's having no such woes with individual honours.

The Aussie skipper is on the short list for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC cricketer of the year along with nemeses and England fast bowler James Anderson, England captain Alastair Cook, South Africa's Hashim Amla, India captain MS Dhoni and Kumar Sangakkara of Sri Lanka.

An independent panel of 32 past players, media, match referees and umpires come up with the short list based only on performances over the 12 months up to August 25, 2013. 

The winner will be announced on December 14.


A Test and ODI team of the year have been named by a five-man panel including Anil Kumble, Waqar Younis, Alec Stewart, Graeme Pollock and New Zealand women's team cricketer Catherine Campbell - yep, not one Australian, however Clarke and now retired Michael Hussey joined a hypothetical Test line-up captained by Cook.

The other batsmen were Cheteshwar Pujara (India), Amla and AB de Villiers (SA), with keeper Dhoni, and bowlers Graeme Swann and Anderson (England) and Dale Steyn and Vernon Philander (SA).

Images via Getty


Clarke on short list to beat Anderson and Cook off the field too in ICC cricketer of the year final
Digital Mag

Latest News

Stay connected on social networks
Like us on Facebook
Follow TNT on Twitter