This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you consent to our use of cookies unless you have disabled them.

eMag | Directory | TNT Travel Show 2017 | Events Search | TNT Jobs

Australia captain Michael Clarke has been named the International Cricket Council's Cricketer of the Year during day one of the third Ashes Test in Perth.

His counterpart Alastair Cook won captain of the year after his side's winning series in India and England against Australia.

Both skippers are playing in their 100th Test matches at the WACA. 

Clarke is the third Aussie to win the sport's top individual honour - the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy - since it began in 2004, following Ricky Ponting (2006, 2007) and Mitchell Johnson (2009).  

The prolific batsman scored 1054 runs in the calendar year, the best in Test cricket for the second year on the run. 

For that he also won Test Cricketer of the Year. 

Clarke was earlier named in the ICC Test team of the year, the only other Aussie alongside now retired Michael Hussey. 

Images via Getty


Clarke beats Cook to win ICC Cricketer of the Year award
Digital Mag

Latest News

Stay connected on social networks
Like us on Facebook
Follow TNT on Twitter