Leary has penned more than 60 books in the Horrible Histories series which recounts moments from history with an emphasis on the gruesome, horrible stories behind it. The series has become knownk for its playful titles, such as Terribel Tudors, Ruthless Romans and Vicious Vikings.

The first was published in 1993, and it has been followed by 60 further books in 20 years, but Deary has now decided finish writing for the series and concentrate on an adult history series.

Deary has sold more than 25million books in 40 countries.

Main image: Author of Horrible Histories, torchbearer Terry Deary carries the Olympic Flame on the Torch Relay prior to London 2012 (via Getty/LOCOG)