Nick Phipps and Will Genia have been selected as scrum halves.  With only two half backs selected it is certainly a gamble, especially with Genia just returning from injury.

Overall the squad looks balanced, but there is some youth and inexperience within.

It has been said that coach Chieka may have picked the squad that will mount a more serious challenge in 2019.  Australia aren’t fancied to do that well at this year’s tournament, they are in the “group of death” and will have to beat either Wales or England to progress to the knock out stages.

Australia’s opening game at the Millenium Stadium, Cardiff, 23 September at 16:45.

Full Squad:

Backs: Israel Folau, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Rob Horne, Drew Mitchell, Henry Speight, Joe Tomane, Tevita Kuridrani, Kurtley Beale, Matt Giteau, Matt Toomua, Quade Cooper, Bernard Foley, Will Genia, Nick Phipps.

Forwards: Wycliff Palu, David Pocock, Michael Hooper, Ben McCalman, Sean McMahon, Scott Fardy, Kane Douglas, Dean Mumm, Rob Simmons, Will Skelton, Stephen Moore (captain), Tatafu Polota-Nau, Greg Holmes, Sekope Kepu, Scott Sio, James Slipper, Toby Smith.