Although there was no Spice Girls or Oasis this time round, it was more than made up for with UK singer and host for the evening – Rita Ora, appearing in bath robe, and performing with lots of dancers as she did tracks from her new album Your Song and Anywhere.

Later on at the event, she took the inaugural ‘MTV EMA Power of Music Award’ honouring the charitable efforts made by artists with regards the Grenfell fire in the summer.

The night began with rapper Eminem doing a collaboration with Skylar Gray’s song ‘Walk on Water,’ which started via a pub before entering the stage at Wembley Arena.

The night followed performances from The Killers with ‘The Man,’ Liam Payne doing a LED light show with his song ‘Strip That Down,’ while Camila Cabello’s produced the hightlight of the night with overhead shots and swimming pool’s featuring.

Cabello wasn’t on her own in the production stakes, with Travis Scott singing ‘Butterfly Effect’ on the back of a bird, while Grime star Stormzy sang ‘Big For Your Boots’ in a police car.

Superstar DJ David Guetta closed the night with his explosive hit ‘Dirty, Sexy, Money’ with singers French Montana and Charli XCX coming on-board.

MTV Europe Music Awards Winners 2017:

Global Icon Award – U2

Best Song – Shawn Mendes – There’s Nothing Holdin’ Me Back

Best Artist – Shawn Mendes

Best Look – ZAYN

Best New – Dua Lipa

Best Pop – Camilla Cabello

Best Video – Kendrick Lamar – Humble

Best Live – Ed Sheeran

Best Electronic – David Guetta

Best Rock – Coldplay

Best Hip Hop – Eminem

Best Alternative – Thirty Second To Mars

The 2018 MTV Europe Music Awards will be held in Bilbao, Spain.