The match was two sets old when Nalbandian, after missing a shot, lashed out in frustration and kicked an advertising board in front of line judge Andrew McDougal which left the official with a bloodied left shin. 

Nalbandian apologised for his actions, but was disqualified for unsporting behaviour, losing out on his £36,500 prize money with the possibility of a £6,400 fine to come, too. 

‘I am sorry to do that. Sometimes we get very frustrated here on court. It is tough to control. It is a mistake,” he said in a post-match interview.

‘It is a tough moment to end a final like that. It is a mistake and I have to pay for that. Everybody makes mistakes.’

His opponent Marian Cilic was awarded the match.  

%TNT Magazine% bandy2

%TNT Magazine% bandy3

Photo: Getty.

blog comments powered by Disqus