This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you consent to our use of cookies unless you have disabled them.

eMag | Directory | TNT Travel Show 2017 | Events Search | TNT Jobs

Australia and New Zealand have won the rights to co-host the 2017 Rugby League World Cup after beating off competition from South Africa.

The Rugby League International Federation said they want the tournament to build on the "accomplishments" of the 2013 World Cup, which saw games in England, Wales, France and Ireland.

“This was not a simple decision but... we were determined to get it right,” said Nigel Wood, Chairman of the bid committee and RLIF Vice-Chair.

“Both bids were thoroughly compelling but the joint Australia/New Zealand bid was selected as the one with the greatest chance of success in providing more compelling games in world class environments in front of big, passionate crowds.”

“The bid from South Africa was very strong, prepared professionally and clearly demonstrated a passion for Rugby League that is growing by the day in that country.”

Australia are current World Cup holders after beating New Zealand in November's final.

It will be the third time the pair have staged the event together.

Details of the qualifying competition for the tournament and the Festival of World Cups will be announced later.

Image via Getty


Australia and New Zealand named co-hosts for 2017 Rugby League World Cup
Digital Mag

Latest News

Stay connected on social networks
Like us on Facebook
Follow TNT on Twitter