This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you consent to our use of cookies unless you have disabled them.

eMag | Directory | TNT Travel Show 2017 | Events Search | TNT Jobs

Twenty states in the US have petitioned the White House to secede from the United States of America in the wake of president Barrack Obama’s re-election and victory over Republican challenger Mitt Romney.

The states to have made petition-based requests of the White House are:  Louisiana, Texas, Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oregon, South Carolina and Tennessee.

Louisiana, which was the first state to file a petition, has collected 12,300 signatures in four days, and if 25,000 are collected by December 7 then the White House will be required to respond. The petition for Texas has already made it to this minimum-signature mark.

The petitions ask for their requisite state to withdraw from the  United States of America to form a new, independent government.

Photo: Getty.


Petitions filed in 20 American states wanting to secede after Barack Obama's re-election
Digital Mag

Latest News

Stay connected on social networks
Like us on Facebook
Follow TNT on Twitter