The award caps a season in which he became the first Liverpool player since Ian Rush in 1987 to score 30 goals in a season.

“The Premier League is full of really great players and so it is a great honour when these players recognise your work on the pitch,” Suarez said.

The controversial forward missed the first five games of the season for biting Chelsea defender Branislav Ivanovic and was previously suspended for eight games for racially abusing Manchester United defender Patrice Evra.

He was also involved in a transfer tussle with Arsenal in the summer but signed a new four-year deal with the Reds in December.

“I always try my best for the team and it is nice to get awards but really this is for my teammates and the staff at Liverpool because without their help I wouldn’t have this prize,” Suarez added.

Chelsea’s Eden Hazard was voted Young Player of the Year.

Premier League team of the year: Petr Cech (Chelsea), Luke Shaw (Southampton), Vincent Kompany (Man City), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Seamus Coleman (Everton), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Yaya Toure (Man City), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Southampton), Luis Suarez (Liverpool), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool).

Image via Getty