Australia will play four debutants in their rugby league World Cup clash with Papua New Guinea as they rest captain Darren Lockyer and fullback Billy Slater, officials said Wednesday.

Making their first appearance for the Kangaroos at Townsville on Sunday night will be Darius Boyd, David Williams, Terry Campese and Anthony Watmough.

With the team named Wednesday, coach Ricky Stuart has ensured that all members of his so-far unbeaten squad will have had game time ahead of the semi-finals.

Campese, nephew of union legend David Campese, will take over at pivot from Lockyer while Cameron Smith will pick up the captainship.

Karmichael Hunt will play fullback, replacing Slater.

Halfback Johnathan Thurston returns from a shoulder injury while Joel Monaghan and Brent Tate will form a new centre partnership.

Australia are assured of making the semi-finals after trouncing England 52-4 on Sunday and cruising to a 30-6 win over New Zealand in their opening match.

Australia (1 to 13) Karmichael Hunt, Darius Boyd, Brent Tate, Joel Monaghan, David Williams, Terry Campese, Johnathan Thurston, Brent Kite, Cameron Smith, Josh Perry, Anthony Watmough, Anthony Tupou, Craig Fitzgibbon.

Interchange: Scott Prince, Steve Price, Paul Gallen, Israel Folau.