South Africa named the same side which edged Wales 20-15 to play a Scotland that brought in only Rory Lamont for injured brother Sean.

Springboks coach Peter de Villiers warned that some of his squad may not play on the three-test tour.

“I decided on an unchanged team to maintain consistency and allow this team to establish themselves as the core 22,” De Villiers said.

“We have brought a squad of 28 players but that does not necessarily mean that every player will play on this tour. Players will have to work for their places.” Lock Bakkies Botha and center Adi Jacobs, who injured their eye and knee respectively against Wales last Saturday, were cleared to meet the Scots at Murrayfield this weekend.

Sean Lamont injured his hamstring trying to catch New Zealand tryscorer Anthony Tuitavake in the All Blacks’ 32-6 victory last weekend, and Rory Lamont was back from injury to replace his older brother for his 18th cap.

“I’m sure it’s not how (Sean) envisaged his comeback for Scotland,” Rory said. “I must take up his mantle on the left wing and do us both proud.” More changes may yet be coming.

Winger Thom Evans has a stiff neck and locks Jim Hamilton (ankle) and Nathan Hines (wrist) also were carrying injuries.

“If Nathan or Jim don’t make it, Matt Mustchin will go into the second row and Al Strokosch will come on to the bench,” coach Frank Hadden said. “At this juncture we expect them all to make it.”

No. 8 Allister Hogg kept his spot as Simon Taylor still was not recovered from a calf muscle complaint.

Despite only six points against the All Blacks, Hadden saw signs that Scotland could surprise the world champions at Murrayfield.

“Last Saturday was an invaluable opportunity to get used to the pace and intensity of rugby in the southern hemisphere,” he said. “I believe that experience will stand us in good stead this week. I thought we did some good things last week.

“You have to play well to create almost 15 reasonable opportunities to score against New Zealand, and this weekend we are determined to try and turn these chances into points.”

Scotland: Chris Paterson, Thom Evans, Ben Cairns, Nick De Luca, Rory Lamont, Phil Godman, Mike Blair (captain); Allan Jacobsen, Ross Ford, Euan Murray, Nathan Hines, Jim Hamilton, Jason White, John Barclay, Allister Hogg. Replacements: Dougie Hall, Alasdair Dickinson, Matt Mustchin, Scott Gray, Rory Lawson, Dan Parks, Hugo Southwell.

South Africa: Conrad Jantjes, JP Pietersen, Adrian Jacobs, Jean de Villiers, Bryan Habana, Ruan Pienaar, Fourie du Preez; Tendei Mtawarira, Bismarck du Plessis, John Smit (captain), Bakkies Botha, Victor Matfield, Schalk Burger, Juan Smith, Pierre Spies. Replacements: Brian Mujati, Gurthro Steenkamp, Andries Bekker, Ryan Kankowski, Ricky
Januarie, Francois Steyn, Jacque Fourie.