The pre-match hype centred on Swans star forward Lance Franklin wasn’t lived up to as the former Hawks man could do little to stem the onslaught of the Melbourne side. 

Buddy kicked four goals in by far the most significant contribution from his team as his former mates went on to claim their club’s 12th title. 

The turning point came in the second quarter courtesy of a six-goal blitz from the Hawks, having taken a 20-point lead in the first term.

Hawthorn were in control all over the MCG’s turf as they took a 42-point half-time lead that would have taken a record comeback to overturn. 

Back-to-back goals from Franklin and Kieran Jack was a brief shining moment as the goals kept piling on for the Hawks.

Jarryd Roughead ended with a game high five goals finished while his captain Luke Hodge won his second Norm Smith Medal in his 250th game. 

His 35 disposals, 12 marks and two goals saw him claim the final’s man of the match prize ahead of team-mates Jordan Lewis and Sam Mitchell.

“To John, Jared, the Sydney boys, as I said before, we respect you guys so such and hold you in high regard,” Hodge said.

“We’ve had battles over the last two, three years and it will continue. We respect you and well done on a great year.

“To my boys, such a resilient group. The last two years striving to push each other harder. Great result. (To go) back-to-back, it’s an unbelievable feeling so well done, boys.”

Image via Getty