Wicketkeeper-batsman Brendon McCullum was named player of
the year as well as winner of the Walter Hadlee Trophy for one-day
batting at the New Zealand Cricket awards in Auckland on Wednesday.

National selector Dion Nash, who was also on the awards selection
panel, said McCullum was outstanding at all levels of the game.

“In the domestic and international one-day and twenty/20
competitions he outperformed everyone else. Who will forget his 170
from 108 balls for the Otago Volts in the State Shield final or his
80 from 28 balls against Bangladesh in Queenstown?

“While his batting was breathtaking at times, so were some of
the wicketkeeping catches he took. During a long and demanding
season he retained his extremely high standards throughout,
including the test series against England in England.”

The J R Reid best allrounder award, presented for the first time,
went to Jacob Oram.

Other awards included:

Sutcliffe Medal for outstanding services to cricket: Sir Richard

Redpath Cup for batting in first-class cricket: Ross Taylor

Winsor Cup for bowling in first-class cricket: Chris Martin

Walter Hadlee Trophy for bowling in one-day internationals:
Kyle Mills.