Ange Postecoglou named his 30-man squad that will contest the world’s biggest sporting event from June, including 11 players currently plying their trade in the A-League.

Lucas Neill has already been told he’s surplus to requirements as Postecoglou went for a youthful look to his first Cup squad. 

His team is in the group of death, but not because of them – the Socceroos are $101 to top the group, and not much less to make it to the round of 16. 

“There is some inexperience, for the majority of players this will be their first World Cup, but we do have some experience, and some experience that need to stand up,” he said announcing the squad. 

By some experience, he largely means Tim Cahill, the only member of the squad now perhaps along with Mark Bresciano with genuine pedigree in a top European league, although neither play in one anymore. 

Mile Jedinak flies the flag for the Premier League, as the stoic captain of Crystal Palace. 

Cahill and Jedinak, followed by Bresciano, are frontrunners for the captain’s armband after Neill’s axing. 

“We needed to regenerate the team and we that started that process pretty much from the day I was appointed,” he said. 

“We want to reward form and fitness and also have an eye to the future.”

Robbie Kruse and Rhys Williams would have been walk-up starters should they be fit but miss out due to injury. Other notable absences are Mark Schwarzer and Harry Kewell who’ve retired from internationals or football altogether.

The two bolters are 21-year-old Bailey Wright, of English League One side Preston North End and Ben Halloran, who plays for German second-tier side Fortuna Dusseldorf.  

The Socceroos 30-man squad will be reduced to 23 on June 2, following a May 26 friendly against South Africa. 

Preliminary World Cup Squad


Mat Ryan, Mitch Langerak, Eugene Galekovic, Mark Birighitti. 


Josh Brillante, Jason Davidson, Ivan Franjic, Curtis Good, Ryan McGowan, Matthew Spiranovic, Alex Wilkinson, Luke WIlkshire, Bailey Wright. 


Oliver Bozanic, Mark Bresciano, Ben Halloran, James Holland, Mile Jedinak, Massimo Luongo, Matt McKay, Mark Milligan, Tommy Oar, Tom Rogic, Adam Sarota, James Troisi, Dario Vidosic


Tim Cahill, Josh Kennedy, Matthew Leckie, Adam Taggart.