The ceremony to celebrate songwriting and composing, now in their 61st year, gave the woman from Tottenham, the Songwriting Award for her Brit award winning album – 25.

Via a video link up, Adele said “Thank you so much, I won on my last album as well so to win on this one is a dream. I was secretly pregnant then so I couldn’t enjoy the night as well. But cheers, bottoms up, enjoy,” added the North London singer, who won an Ivor for the 3rd time, and was currently on a European tour for her latest album.

Blur frontman, Damon Albarn, was also another winner at the Dorchester Hotel event. Albarn, who had worked with Adele in the past for her album, was the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award for his work across a plethora of musical genres from opera to his cartoon band – Gorillaz – and Blur.

Albarn, who was presented the award by his longterm friend and bandmate, Graham Coxon, said: “”What is songwriting? What is it all about? True songwriters are people who are able to release themselves from something that’s really affected them by writing a song about it.

“Some of us see it as going to church, some of us see it as going to work, but at the end of the day, if you’re not connected to the spirit you’re not making true music,” added Albarn.

With the return of new material by Stone Roses in the same week, quite appropriate that fellow Manchester band, Happy Mondays, took home the Inspiration Award. Collecting the award on behalf of his band, lead singer, Shaun Ryder told the BBC “”After 30 years, to finally be recognised for writing a song – it feels great.”

2016 Ivor Novello Awards – Winners:

Best song musically and lyrically: Wasn’t Expecting That – Jamie Lawson 

Best contemporary song: All My Friends – Snakehips ft Tinashe & Chance The Rapper 

Most performed work: Hold Back The River – James Bay 

Best album: Darling Arithmetic – Villagers 

Best film score: Ex Machina

Best television soundtrack: London Spy

Lifetime achievement: Damon Albarn

Outstanding song collection: Simple Minds

PRS for Music outstanding contribution to British music: Portishead

PRS for Music special international award: Bryan Adams

Songwriter of the year: Adele

The Ivors classical music award: Oliver Knussen

The Ivors inspiration award: Happy Mondays