Aleem Dar (Pakistan)
Tests: 74
Accolades: Won ICC Umpire of the Year three years in a row from 2009-2011. The only umpire to have won it more can’t do Ashes games – Australia’s Simon Taufel is a five-time winner.
– Umpired the World Cup final between Australia and Sri Lanka in 2007.
Ashes experience: This will be his sixth England/Australia Test. Also stood for the World Twenty20 World Cup final between the same teams.
Claim to fame: In the 2011 World Cup, all 15 of his decisions referred to the video umpire (Decision Review System) were proven to be correct.
As a player: A modest batsman and leg-spin bowler, Dar averaged 11.73 with the bat and took 11 wickets in his 17 first class matches.

Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka)
Tests: 8
Accolades: Won the 2012 ICC Umpire of the Year after only being appointed to the Elite Panel of ICC Umpires in 2011.
Ashes experience: This will be his first Ashes Test.
Claim to fame: Played in the 1996 World Cup-winning Sri Lanka team which beat Australia in the final. 
As a player:
A handy batsman and awkward bowler for Sri Lanka, he played 31 Tests and 141 ODIs. His action was investigated for chucking in 1998 but he was cleared. He retired in 2006.