Priddis was a surprise omission from the 2014 All-Australian honours but his contribution for the Perth-based side didn’t go unnoticed.

He won two votes in the final round of the regular season to clinch the top individual honour in Aussie Rules. “I didn’t think I’d be polling mid-20s,” he said.

Fremantle’s Nat Fyfe polled 25 votes, but was ineligible for the best and fairest award after a four-match suspension during the season. He was a vote from joining Corey McKernan and Chris Grant among the only ineligible players to top the votes.

Priddis becomes the first player for the Eagles to claim the Brownlow since 2005 when Ben Cousins won it.

Before the vote punters originally thought a third Brownlow Medal was on the cards for Gary Ablett Jr, although late in the piece Geelong captain Joel Selwood and Sydney’s Josh Kennedy were considered hot prospects.

Selwood became favourite to be the third Cats player to win the honour in the past eight seasons, following in the footsteps of Jimmy Bartel (2007) and Ablett (2009), now at the Gold Coast Suns.