There has been surprise after Fabio Capello named his England World Cup squad, leaving out Arsenal winger Theo Walcott.

The England manager made his decision immediately after Sunday’s 2-1 friendly victory over Japan, with seven players being cut.

Many names on the 23-man squad were leaked on Twitter yesterday, before the FA made its formal announcement.

Here’s the line-up of England’s World Cup squad:

– David James, Robert Green, Joe Hart 

Defenders- Ashley Cole, Stephen Warnock, John Terry, Rio Ferdinand (captain), Glen Johnson, Ledley King, Matthew Upson, Jamie Carragher

Midfielders- Gareth Barry, Michael Carrick, Aaron Lennon, Shaun Wright-Phillips, Steven Gerrard, Frank Lampard, James Milner, Joe Cole

Forwards- Peter Crouch, Wayne Rooney, Emile Heskey, Jermain Defoe

The countdown to the World Cup has begun. Time to plan where to watch the games! TNT will be hosting a series of World Cup screenings, in association with Contiki. Find out more here: World Cup screenings in London

Related stories:   
Socceroos squad update

World Cup 2010: tips and predictions
World Cup 2010 fixtures