Talks to allocate ministers for Zimbabwe’s power-sharing government will begin on Tuesday, the governing party’s chief negotiator said on national television.
“The discussions to allocate who will head which ministry… that process will in earnest start tomorrow after the signing ceremony,” said Patrick Chinamasa of President Robert Mugabe’s ZANU-PF party.
Late on Monday leaders of three Zimbabwe political rivals signed an accord aimed at ending the country’s ruinious political crisis following protracted negotiations.
Under the agreement the leaders agreed to an all inclusive power-sharing agreement which will see the appointment of 31 ministers drawn from the three main parties.
Morgan Tsvangirai, leader of the main opposition Movement for Democratic Change, will become prime minister and the head of a smaller splinter group, Arthur Mutambara, will be his deputy.
“The principals are going to meet to decide which ministries are going to be run by the ZANU-PF, which ministries are going to be run by the MDC-T and which by the MDC-M,” Chinamasa said, referring to the movements headed by Tsvangirai and Mutambara.
“The other immediate matter is the issue of the amendment of the constitution.” The deal, brokered by South African President Thabo Mbeki, has been widely approved by African leaders, but the larger international community reacted cautiously, mainly awaiting details.
In August, the parties failed to sign the proposed agreement after Tsvangirai said he needed more time to consult over specific issues regarding the allocation of powers.