South Sydney star Greg Inglis remains touch-and-go for next Sunday’s one-off rugby league Test clash with New

Zealand in Newcastle.

Kangaroos coach Tim Sheens will name his side on Friday morning for the game at Ausgrid Stadium and Inglis

is battling to be fit after injuring his ankle at the

back end of South Sydney’s NRL campaign last month.

Should the Queensland superstar be passed fit to play, he’s certain to line up with Chris Lawrence in the centres.


selection would be a silver lining in what has been an injury-plagued

season for the classy Wests Tigers star, who’s battled back from a

dislocated hip that had threatened to end his career.


looking back to his best upon his return to action in round 18, Lawrence

tore his hamstring in round 22, before recovering to take part in the

Tigers’ finals campaign.

Canberra prop David Shillington is

another player who was beset by injury in 2011 but having fought back

from a torn biceps muscle, he is set to form an all-Queensland front row

with Cameron Smith and Matt Scott.

The game will also be skipper Darren Lockyer’s final game on Australian soil.


34-year-old has made good progress after smashing his cheekbone in

Brisbane’s epic 13-12 win over St George Illawarra three weeks ago.


he was adamant he would have been able to play in last week’s grand

final had Brisbane beaten Manly in the preliminary final and is sure to

be in the side.

Manly backrower Anthony Watmough could be

rewarded for a stand-out season for the Sea Eagles with a spot in the

back row alongside Brisbane’s Sam Thaiday and NSW skipper Paul Gallen.


Yow-Yeh, who scored on his international debut in the Test clash with

the Kiwis on the Gold Coast in May, is favourite to retain his spot on

the wing from Darius Boyd.

Newcastle flyer Akuila Uate will give

the locals something to cheer about when he lines up on the opposite

flank for his international debut.

Possible team: Billy

Slater, Jhral Yow Yeh, Greg Inglis, Chris Lawrence, Akuila Uate, Darren

Lockyer (capt), Johnathan Thurston, Matt Scott, Cameron Smith, David

Shillington, Anthony Watmough, Sam Thaiday, Paul Gallen. Int: Cooper

Cronk, Luke Lewis, Dave Taylor, Keith Galloway.