Team South Africa were celebrating on Thursday after winning two gold medals at the Commonwealth Youth Games, currently underway in Pune, India.

Both golds came from the 800m event on the track.

Athletics Team Manager Teboho Dithuge was elated in describing the women’s 800m race. “Caster (Semenya) just pulled away from everyone! She was brilliant and we are all so proud of her achievement. The pace was quick and her time was outstanding with a new SA record, 2:04.23.”

The first gold medal for Team SA also came from athletics in the men’s 800m. Windy Jonas kept his word. On the team’s departure last week he chatted to SASCOC brand ambassador Kabelo Mabalane and told everyone to “watch this space”.

“He promised gold for South Africa, and he has delivered just that,” said an elated Dithuge.

Jonas’s gold medal time was 1.50.72. Jonas’s other medal is a bronze in the 1500m, where he finished in 3:48.41.

Other medals for Team South Africa have come from track and field, swimming and shooting. Silver medals have been won by Stephan Brink, Shot Put (18.41m) finishing in second place behind Curtis Griffith of England.

Cornel Fredericks also won silver in the 110m hurdles event in a time of 13.99 seconds, behind Sam Baines of Australia, and Maria Badenhorst threw the hammer to a distance of 50.92m finishing, also behind England.

Cheyne Rahme finished second behind Australia in a silver medal height of 5.20m in the mens pole vault, while the one bronze medal in athletics came from Boipelo Motlhatlhego in the triple jump, who finished with a distance of 15.20m behind India (gold) and England (silver).

In the shooting (double trap) Philip Smith claimed a silver medal behind India. And in swimming, Warren Karsten and Chad van Zyl both claimed silver medals in the 50m breaststroke (29.70secs) and 100m backstroke (56.87 sec), respectively. The two bronze medals in swimming were won by Darren Murray in the 100m backstroke (57.06 sec), and the 4x100m freestyle men’s relay team.

The relay team comprised Chad van Zyl, Pierre Wirth, Chad le Clos and Kristopher Matulovich, finishing in a time of 3.30.20 behind Australia (gold) and India (silver).