Here’s the latest on New Zealand’s All Whites squad for the World Cup 2010 in South Africa.

Young ginger tyro Aaron Clapham is the bolter in the All Whites outfit.

The 23-year-old Canterbury midfielder was named in coach Ricki Herbert’s 23-man squad to compete at the 19th chapter of the tournament after a strong domestic season which saw him named as Player of the Year in the New Zealand Football Championship.

Blackburn Rovers central defender Ryan Nelsen will captain the side in the republic. Nelsen will be joined by six other European based professionals, Rory Fallon (Plymouth), Chris Killen (Middlesbrough), Michael McGlinchey (Motherwell), Winston Reid (FC Midtjylland), Tommy Smith (Ipswich Town) and Chris Wood (West Bromwich Albion).

United States-based midfielder Jeremy Christie was also named.
Denmark-based Winston Reid joins Clapham as the other uncapped player while David Mulligan has held his place despite not playing for the Wellington Phoenix in their magical run to third place in the A-League.

Waitakere United defender Aaron Scott was the notable omission from the 18 players involved in the crucial qualifying series against Bahrain.

A notable inclusion was keeper Glen Moss – best remembered in recent times as having a tanty and swearing at referee Lencie Fred In November 2008  in a dead-rubber qualification match against Fiji. As part of his four match ban for the childish incident, Moss will miss the Kiwi team’s opening two pool games.

Check out the official All Whites World Cup song – One Shot For Glory



Mark Paston (Wellington Phoenix). Age: 33. Caps: 23. Debut: 1997
Glen Moss (Melbourne Victory). Age: 27. Caps: 16. Debut: 2006
James Bannatyne (Team Wellington): Age: 34. Caps: 5. Debut: 2001 

Ryan Nelsen (Blackburn Rovers). Age: 32. Caps: 41. Goals: 9. Debut: 1999
Ivan Vicelich (Auckland City). Age: 33. Caps: 72. Goals: 7. Debut: 1995
Ben Sigmund (Wellington Phoenix): Age: 29. Caps: 13. Goals: 1. Debut: 2000
Winston Reid (FC Midtjylland, Denmark): Age: 21. Uncapped.
Tommy Smith (Ipswich Town). Age: 20. Caps: 1. Goals: 0. Debut: 2010
Tony Lochhead (Wellington Phoenix): Age: 28. Caps: 30. Goals: 0. Debut: 2003
Andy Boyens (New York Red Bulls): Age: 26. Caps: 16. Goals: 0. Debut: 2007

Simon Elliott (unattached). Age: 35. Caps: 70. Goals: 8. Debut: 1995
Tim Brown (Wellington Phoenix): Age: 29. Caps: 28. Goals: 0. Debut: 2004
Leo Bertos (Wellington Phoenix): Age: 28. Caps: 31. Goals: 0. Debut: 2003
Michael McGlinchey (Central Coast Mariners): Age: 23. Caps: 4. Goals: 0. Debut: 2009
Aaron Clapham (Canterbury United):  Age: 23. Uncapped.
David Mulligan (unattached): Age: 28. Caps: 30  Goals: 5.  Debut: 2002
Jeremy Brockie (Newcastle Jets): Age: 22. Caps: 17. Goals: 0. Debut: 2006
Andy Barron (Team Wellington): Age: 29. Caps: 14. Goals: 1. Debut: 2006
Jeremy Christie (FC Tampa Bay). Age: 26. Caps: 20. Goals: 1. Debut: 2005

Chris Killen (Middlesbrough): Age: 28. Caps: 36. Goals: 17. Debut: 2000
Shane Smeltz (Gold Coast United): Age: 28
Chris Wood (West Bromwich Albion): Age: 18. Caps: 6. Goals: 0. Debut: 2009
Rory Fallon (Plymouth Argyle): Age: 28. Caps: 4. Goals: 2. Debut: 2009