Mitchell Johnson delivered a quick fourth-day kill to ensure Australia will retain the trans-Tasman cricket trophy after defeating New Zealand by 149 runs in the first Test at the Gabba.

The hosts took a 1-0 lead in the two-Test series after Johnson picked up his first five-wicket haul in his Test career by cleaning up the tourists’ tail in just 48 minutes of play.

The north Queensland product took three of the four wickets to fall on Sunday morning as the Black Caps were dismissed for 177.

Johnson finished with 5-39 off 17.3 overs and nine wickets for the match to challenge Simon Katich (131 not out) for man-of-the-match honours.

Resuming at 6-143 in a chase for 327 for an unlikely victory, Ross Taylor and Daniel Vettori survived half an hour before Johnson struck.

He had Vettori (10) caught one-handed by Andrew Symonds at point to put out the Black Caps’ flickering hopes.

In his next over the left-armer also induced an an edge behind off Taylor to end an impressive 128-ball stay for 75.

Stuart Clark quickly got into the action by having Iain O’Brien caught at point by Michael Clarke.

Tim Southee put the only smiles on NZ faces on the fourth day with two sixes off Clark, including a massive blow over mid-wicket into the corporate boxes.

But batting bunny Chris Martin lasted just four balls, clean bowled by Johnson.

Later today, Australia’s dropped all-rounder Shane Watson for the second Test against New Zealand starting on Friday in Adelaide.

The selection panel announced a 12-man squad, with Watson replaced by Victorian quick Peter Siddle.

Skipper Ricky Ponting said spinner Jason Krejza was almost certain to play at the Adelaide Oval after he was unluckily made 12th man in Brisbane due to the seam-friendly conditions.

Watson bowled well in the first Test but let himself down with the bat, scoring one and five when Australia were in trouble in both innings.

He has been released to play Sheffield Shield cricket for Queensland, who meet South Australia at the Gabba from Friday.

Australia: Ricky Ponting (capt), Matthew Hayden, Simon Katich, Mike Hussey, Michael Clarke, Andrew Symonds, Brad Haddin, Brett Lee, Mitchell Johnson, Stuart Clark, Jason Krejza, Peter Siddle (12th man to be named).