The 22-year-old finished four seconds ahead of Nissan’s James Moffat while Holden’s Nick Percat rounded out the podium.

Mostert’s first time in the lead, in this his second Bathurst, wasn’t until the last lap when he passed championship leader and four-time winner of this race Jamie Whincup.

Whincup had worked his own magic to get to the front from 23rd on the grid, but was forced to cruise to a fifth-place finish due to a lack of fuel. 

Mostert made history from 25th spot at the start with no driver having won the V8 Supercars race from further back than 19th, and that was done by the late and great Peter Brock with David Parsons and Peter McLead in 1987.

After taking pole, Holden’s Shane van Gisbergen was on track to victory but stalled during a pitstop and couldn’t restart with 11 laps left. 

Last years first to third, Ford’s Mark Winterbottom, Whincup and Craig Lowndes, were left to battle it out. But Lowndes and Winterbottom clashed to scupper either of their hopes. 

In a race of 10 safety cars and either retirements, and after another first for the race, an hour delay to fix a piece of the track, the 161 laps ere done and dusted after eight epic hours. 

And with a new champion. 

Image via Getty