Haddin, 35, was named in a 16-man squad to take on England in the Ashes series in England.

“We feel it’s important to have a senior, seasoned player support Michael [Clarke] at this time,” selector John Inverarity said.

“When Shane Watson advised of his decision to stand down, the NSP (national selection panel) viewed Brad as the exceptional candidate to step into this leadership void.”

Watson, who has only recently made himself available to bowl again after injury was picked as an all-rounder for the series starting in July.

The biggest addition to the side is Middlesex captain Chris Rogers, also 35, who hasn’t played a Test since his one and only appearance in 2008.

Rogers has been one of the most consistent opening batsmen in first class cricket in Australia and England since. His total of 19,107 runs in 233 games at the top at an average of 50.01 is impossible to ignore.

The only uncapped player to join the squad is left-arm quick bowler James Faulkner, better known for his Twenty-20 form although he impressed for Tasmania in their recent Sheffield Shield triumph.

He steps in for erratic Mitchell Johnson, despite the speedster taking 35 wickets in nine Tests against England.

Johnson is among five players axed from the squad that lost 4-0 in India recently.

Nathan Lyon is the only spinner in the squad, after Pakistan-born leg-spinner Fawad Ahmed didn’t get his Australian passport in time.

Haddin has also been named to captain an Australia A side ahead of the Ashes to play Scotland, Ireland and Gloucestershire – the side will include players also in the Ashes side.

Australia Ashes squad of 16: 

Michael Clarke (captain), Brad Haddin (vice-captain), Jackson Bird, Ed Cowan, James Faulkner, Ryan Harris, Phil Hughes, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, James Pattinson, Chris Rogers, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson.

Australia A squad to tour UK: 

Brad Haddin (captain), Steve Smith (vice-captain), Ashton Agar, Jackson Bird, Alex Doolan, Ryan Harris, Moises Henriques, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Nic Maddinson, James Pattinson, Chadd Sayers, Peter Siddle, Jordan Silk.

 Images via Getty